Press "Enter" to skip to content

Cyril Ramaphosa inaugurated as South Africa’s 6th president

African National Congress leader Cyril Ramaphosa was sworn in as South Africa’s sixth democratically elected president  by Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng at Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Pretoria on Saturday, 25 May 2019

This follows South Africa’s general elections held on May 8 and won by the ANC with 57.5% (230 MP seats) followed by the DA with 20.78% (89 MP seats) and the EFF with 10.79% (44 MP seats).

South Africa’s sixth national assembly was sworn in on Wednesday, May 22 and elected Ramaphosa as the country’s president.

“I, Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa, swear that I will be faithful to the Republic of South Africa, and will obey, observe, uphold and maintain the Constitution and all law of the Republic. And I solemnly and sincerely promise that I will always promote all that will advance the Republic and oppose all that may harm it; protect and promote the rights of all South Africans,” he said.

More than 32,000 people attended the inauguration at Loftus Versfeld with many queuing since three o’clock in the morning to gain access.

Ramaphosa’s inauguration coincided with Africa Day, and he used the opportunity to call peace on the African continent and increased trade among African nations in line with the vision of the African Union.

Former Presidents Thabo Mbeki, Kgalema Motlanthe and FW de Klerk were seated in the VIP area on stage, and the Heads of State from the DRC, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, South Sudan, Uganda, Lesotho and Eswatini graced the ceremony which coincides with the continental Africa Day celebrations.

Cyril Ramaphosa short-biography

  • Born on 17 November 1952 in Soweto to Erdmuth and Samuel Ramaphosa.
  • Married to Hope Ramaphosa (1978-89), Nomazizi Mtshotshisa (1991-93) and t
  • Joined the South African Students Organisation (SASO) in 1972
  • Detained for 11 months in 1974 for organising pro-Frelimo rallies
  • Detained for 6 months in 1976 after the protests in Soweto
  • Law degree from UNISA, 1981
  • A Legal advisor at the Council of Unions of South Africa (CUSA, 1981)
  • Founding Secretary-General of the National Union of Mineworkers (1982-1991)
  • ANC Secretary-General (1991-1997)
  • Headed the ANC negotiation team with the Apartheid government
  • Appointed Chairperson of South Africa’s Constitutional Assembly on 24 May 1994
  • ANC Deputy president (2012-17)
  • South Africa’s deputy president (2014-18)
  • Elected ANC president in December 2017

Pictures from President Cyril Ramaphosa’s inauguration

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.