Press "Enter" to skip to content

Guinea-Bissau 2019 parliamentary elections: Updates

Updates from Guinea-Bissau where voters went to the polls in parliamentary elections on Sunday, 10 March 2019

The Guinea-Bissau legislative elections were initially scheduled for 18 November 2019 but were postponed to March 10.

Back in 2015, President José Mário Vaz dissolved the government of Prime Minister Domingos Simões Pereira, whose party had won a majority in elections the previous year.

This came shortly after Pereira had lost the absolute majority in parliament because 15 members of his own party, the African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC) formed a new party the Movement for Democratic Change (Madem-G15).

Vaz appointed six prime ministers, but none garnered sufficient support to achieve a parliamentary majority. In April 2018 ECOWAS mediated for Aristide Gomes to be appointed as a consensus prime minister.

The party that wins a majority will be able to appoint a new prime minister. There are 21 political parties contesting for 102 national assembly seats and results are expected on Monday.

The main parties

  • Ruling party: African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC)
  • Main opposition: Party of Social Renewal
  • Movement for Democratic Change (Madem-G15)

President José Mário Vaz casting his vote

Guinea-Bissau voting queues

Guinea-Bissau citizens casting their votes

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.