Press "Enter" to skip to content

18 candidates for Bulawayo’s Ward 28 by-election: Cowdray Park, Zimbabwe

There are 18 candidates contesting for the Bulawayo Ward 28 (Cowdray Park) by-election that is scheduled for Saturday, March 30 in Zimbabwe.

The councillor position for Bulawayo Ward 28 (Cowdray Park) was declared vacant by th Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) following the death of MDC Alliance councillor Hapson Nyasha Ncube in December 2018

There are a total of 36 polling stations for the Cowdray Park by-election with Sithembiso Khupe as the elections officer while the collation centre will be located at Mkhithika Thebe Primary School.

Candidate statistics

  • 7 female candidates (38.9%)
  • 11 male candidates (61.1%)
  • 7 independent candidates
  • 18 total candidates previously reported that there was chaos at a MDC Alliance primary election for the Bulawayo Ward 28 by-election.

This resulted in two MDC Alliance candidates successfully filing their nomination papers specifically Collet Ndhlovu and Nomagugu Mloyi.

After the nomination court set on Friday, February 22 the following eighteen candidates were nominated as candidates for the Cowdray Park by-election

CandidatePolitical PartyDOBGender
Enoch Dube Independent25/10/1952M
Mejury DubeUDA03/01/1976F
Florah GumpoMDC-T08/08/1962F
Albert MashayanyikaNCA20/04/1978M
Nomagugu MloyiMDC Alliance02/11/1972F
Kidwell MujuruZanu PF28/11/1970M
George MukuchaIndependent24/11/1961M
Godfrey MushauriIndependent20/06/1972M
Amon NcubeIndependent14/07/1969M
Nkosinothando NcubeIndependent28/07/1977
Polite NcubeZEFF11/12/1972F
Collet NdhlovuMDC Alliance27/10/1962M
Nokuthula NdhlovuZAPU05/08/1969
Nicholas NgwenyaZIPP01/12/1972M
Nkosentsha NkalaIndependent01/12/1978M
Nkosikona NonyiMRP10/01/1972M
Buhle NzimaNPF28/09/1982F
Stanley TshabanguIndependent01/11/1965M
Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.