Press "Enter" to skip to content

India’s PM Narendra Modi wins landslide re-election with 65%

India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi won landslide re-election with 65% of the vote after seven-phase-elections held from 11 April to 19 May 2019.

The ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDI) coalition led by Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 355 of the 542 parliamentary seats after all votes were counted on 23 May 2019.

BJP won 303 of the NDI coalition’s 355 seats with the rest won by Shivsena (18), Janata Dal (16), Lok Jan Shakti Party (6), Apna Dal (2), Shiromani Akali Dal (2) and one seat each for eight other NDI parties.

Modi’s main rival Rahul Gandhi of the Indian National Congress (INC) conceded defeat in a tweet on Thursday after his party won 52 seats saying

I accept the verdict of the people of India
Congratulations to the winners, Mr Modi & the NDA. Thank you to the people of Wayanad for electing me as your MP. Thank you also to the people of Amethi. Thank you Congress workers & leaders for your hard work in this campaign.

On Thursday afternoon, Modi tweeted, “Together we will build a strong and inclusive India. India wins yet again!”

Thank you India! The faith placed in our alliance is humbling and gives us strength to work even harder to fulfil people’s aspirations. I salute every BJP Karyakarta for their determination, perseverance & hardwork. They went home to home, elaborating on our development agenda.

India’s election are the world’s largest with voting held for 542 of 543 Lok Sabha seats after polling in Vellore, Tamil Nadu was cancelled after the seizure of large stores of cash.

According to the Indian Election Commission, 900 million people were eligible to vote and the voter turnout was a record 67.11 per cent.

Narendra Modi
Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.