Press "Enter" to skip to content

Profile of the Zanu PF Politburo- Top leaders of Zimbabwe’s ruling party

Profiles of the top leadership of the ruling Zimbabwe African National Union-Patriotic Front (Zanu PF) Politburo.

All members of the ZANU PF politburo are appointed by the first secretary and president of the party, the position is currently occupied by Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa.

Here are some key statistics about the Zanu PF Politburo

  • 4 women and 25 men
  • The average age is 64.5
  • Oldest (77) & Youngest (34)
  • 7 have first degrees
  • 6 have Masters degrees
  • 4 have PhD’s
  • 4 lawyers
  • 1 medical doctor
  • No engineering professionals
PositionNameDOBAge (by end of 2019)GenderHighest qualification
First Secretary and PresidentEmmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa15 September 194277MaleBachelor of Laws (LLB)
Second Secretary and Vice PresidentConstantino Chiwenga02 July 195663MalePhD in Ethics
Second Secretary and Vice PresidentKembo Mohadi15 November 194970MaleBachelor of Business Administration
National ChairpersonOppah Muchinguri-Kashiri14 December 195861FemaleMasters in International Relations
National commissarVictor Matemadanda3 March 195861MaleDiploma in Marketing
Deputy national commissarOmega Sipani HungweFemale
Secretary for AdministrationObert Mpofu12 October 195168MalePhD in Policy Studies
Secretary for FinancePatrick Chinamasa25 January 194772MaleBA Law
Secretary for Legal AffairsPaul Mangwana10 August 196158MaleBachelor of Laws (LLB)
Deputy Secretary for Legal AffairsFortune Chasi5 February 196554MaleBachelor of Laws (LLB)
Secretary for TransportJuly MoyoMale
Secretary for Science and TechnologyChris Mutsvangwa24 May 195564MaleMBA
Secretary for the Welfare of the Disabled and the DisadvantagedJoshua MalingaMaleMPhil
Principal of the Chitepo Ideological CollegMunyaradzi MachachaMale
Secretary for national securityLovemore MatukeMale
Secretary for War Veterans, Detainees and RestricteesDouglas MahiyaMale
Secretary for Information and PublicitySimon Khaya Moyo1 October 1945 74MaleBA Social Science
Secretary for Womens AffairsMabel Chinomona21 January 195861FemaleNational Certificate
Secretary for Youth AffairsPupurai Togarepi196455Male
Deputy Secretary for Youth AffairsLewis Mathuthu198534MaleDegree
Deputy Secretary for War Veterans, Detainees and RestricteesHeadman MoyoMale
Deputy director for War Veterans AffairsZenzo NcubeMale
Secretary for External RelationsSimbarashe Mumbengegwi 20 July 194574MaleMasters in Public Administration
Head of Health departmentDavid Parirenyatwa2 August 195070MaleMBChB
Head of Labour and Production departmentJosiah HungweMale
Head of indigenisation and economic empowerment departmentMike Bimha31 October 195465MalePhD
Committee memberEdna Madzongwe11 July 194376FemaleMasters in Education
Committee memberPerrance Shiri11 January 195564MaleMSc Development Studies
Committee memberSibusiso Moyo 196069MalePhD in International Relations

Picture of Zanu PF”s Politburo

Zanu PF Politburo
Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.