Press "Enter" to skip to content

South Africa 11th country with gender equal cabinet: Ministers reduced from 36 to 28 by Ramaphosa

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa announced his new cabinet with 50% women and reduced the number of ministers from 36 to 28. previously reported that Ramaphosa was inaugurated as South Africa’s 6th president on Saturday, 25 May 2019 after the African National Congress (ANC) won the May 8 election with  57.5% followed by the DA with 20.78% and the EFF with 10.79%.

Ramaphosa made the announcement at the Union Building in Pretoria on Wednesday, 29 May 2019 making South Africa the eleventh gender equal cabinet in the world.

The 11 countries with gender equal cabinets in the world are Ethiopia, Rwanda, South Africa, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, France, Spain, Nicaragua, Seychelles and Sweden.

David “DD” Mabuza was reappointed deputy president after clearing his name with ANC’s integrity committee and subsequently being sworn in as an MP on Tuesday.

A number of ministries were merged specifically Trade and industry with Economic development; Higher education and training with Science and technology; Environmental affairs with forestry and fisheries; Agriculture and land reform with Rural development; Mineral resources with Energy; Human settlements with water and sanitation and lastly Sports and recreation with Arts and culture.

Notable inclusions are opposition MP and GOOD leader Patricia de Lille who was appointed Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure while the most glaring omissions were Bathabile Dlamini, Jeff Radebe, Siyabonga Cwele, and Derek Hanekom.

Newcomers include Senzo Mchunu at the department of public service and administration, Ronald Lamola as justice minister and Jackson Mthembu will now serve as minister in the presidency.

By reducing the number of ministers from 36 to 28 the South African government will save more than 21 million according to AfriCheck since cabinet ministers each receive an annual salary of R2.4 million, with deputy ministers getting R1.98 million. 

Although Ramaphosa reduced the number of full ministers to 12 the total number of individuals in South Africa’s cabinet was reduced by just 8 from 72 to 64 due to the high number of deputy ministers appointed.

In 1994, Nelson Mandela had 28 ministers, with 14 deputy ministers. Former president Thabo Mbeki had 28 ministers, while former president Jacob Zuma had 36 ministers, with 37 deputy ministers.

Countries with the worlds smallest cabinets include Germany 14, United States 15, Belgium 15, Luxembourg 17, Kenya 18, New Zealand 18 and the United Kingdom 21 ministers.

Here is the full list of South Africa’s new ministers and deputy ministers:

  1. Deputy President: David Mabuza
  2. Minister of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development: Thoko Didiza (Deputy Ministers are Sdumo Dlamini and Mcebisi Skwatsha)
  3. Minister of Basic Education: Angie Motshekga (Deputy Minister is Dr Regina Mhaule)
  4. Minister of Communications: Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams (Deputy Minister is Pinky Kekana)
  5. Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs: Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma (Deputy Ministers are Parks Tau and Obed Bapela)
  6. Minister of Defence and Military Veterans: Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula (Deputy Minister is Thabang Makwetla)
  7. Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries: Barbara Creecy (Deputy Minister is Maggie Sotyu)
  8. Minister of Employment and Labour: Thulas Nxesi (Deputy Minister is Boitumelo Moloi)
  9. Minister of Finance: Tito Mboweni (Deputy Minister is Dr David Masondo)
  10. Minister of Health: Dr Zwelini Mkhize (Deputy Minister is Dr Joe Phaahla)
  11. Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology: Dr Blade Nzimande (Deputy Minister is Buti Manamela)
  12. Minister of Home Affairs: Dr Aaron Motsoaledi (Deputy Minister is Njabulo Nzuza)
  13. Minister of Human Settlements, Water and Sanitation: Lindiwe Sisulu (Deputy Ministers are Pam Tshwete and David Mahlobo)
  14. Minister of International Relations and Cooperation: Dr Naledi Pandor (Deputy Ministers are Alvin Botes and Candith Mashego-Dlamini)
  15. Minister of Justice and Correctional Services: Ronald Lamola (Deputy Ministers are John Jeffery and Inkosi Phathekile Holomisa)
  16. Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy: Gwede Mantashe (Deputy Minister is Bavelile Hlongwa)
  17. Minister of Police: General Bheki Cele (Deputy Minister is Cassel Mathale)
  18. Minister in the Presidency: Jackson Mthembu (Deputy Minister in the Presidency is Thembi Siweya)
  19. Minister in the Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities: Maite Nkoana-Mashabane (The Deputy Minister is Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize)
  20. Minister of Public Enterprises: Pravin Gordhan (Deputy Minister is Phumulo Masualle)
  21. Minister of Public Service and Administration: Senzo Mchunu (Deputy Minister is Sindy Chikunga)
  22. Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure: Patricia De Lille (Deputy Minister is Noxolo Kiviet)
  23. Minister of Small Business Development: Khumbudzo Ntshavheni (Deputy Minister is Rosemary Capa)
  24. Minister of Social Development: Lindiwe Zulu (Deputy Minister is Henrietta Bogopane-Zulu)
  25. Minister of Sports, Arts and Culture: Nathi Mthethwa (Deputy Minister is Nocawe Mafu)
  26. Minister of State Security is Ayanda Dlodlo (Deputy Minister is Zizi Kodwa)
  27. Minister of Tourism: Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane (Deputy Minister is Fish Mahlalela)
  28. Minister of Trade and Industry: Ebrahim Patel (Deputy Ministers are Fikile Majola and Nomalungelo Gina)
  29. Minister of Transport is Fikile Mbalula (Deputy Minister is Dikeledi Magadzi)

Cyril Ramaphosa making the cabinet announcement on Wednesday night, May 29

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.