Press "Enter" to skip to content

Politics of Algeria

An overview of Algeria’s system of politics and government, from the founding fathers to the current ruling and main opposition political parties.

Algeria is a north African constitutional republic with the President as head of state & the Prime Minister as the head of government

Algeria Country profile

  • Independence: 5 July 1962
  • Area: 2 381 741 km2 (10 largest in the world & largest in Africa)
  • Population:42 200 000 (2018 estimate)
  • Other: Currency: Dinar (DZD), Time Zone: UCT+1, Driving side: Right, Calling code: +213, TLD: .dz
  • Administrative divisions: 48 provinces (wilayas), 553 districts (dairas) & 1 541 municipalities (baladiyahs)
  • Capital & largest city: Algiers

Algerian Politics

  • Current President: Abdelaziz Bouteflika
  • Main opposition leader: Bouguerra Soltani
  • Founding President: Ahmed Ben Bella
  • Liberation party: National Liberation Front
  • Ruling party: National Liberation Front
  • Main opposition party: Movement of Society for Peace

Algeria Executive branch of government

  • Head of State: President (directly elected)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister (appointed by HOS)
  • Executive body: Council of Ministers (appointed by HOG)

Algerian legislative branch of government

  • Type of legislature : Bicameral
  • Upper House: Council of the Nation: 144 (96 directly elected + 48 appointed)
  • Lower House: Peoples National Assembly: 462 (454 elected via proportional representation & 8 diaspora representatives)

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.