Press "Enter" to skip to content

Profile of the MDC Standing Committee: Top leaders of Zimbabwe’s main opposition

Profiles of the top leaders of Zimbabwe’s main opposition the Movement for Democratic Change (MDC) Standing Committee after the party’s 5th national congress held in Gweru from May 24-26.

Here are some key statistics about the MDC Standing Committee

  • Six women (33%) and 12 men (67%)
  • The average age is 42
  • Oldest (66) & Youngest (27)
  • Five have a Masters degree
  • Eight lawyers (39%)
  • 14 have a degree (78%)
  • Noone with a PhD
  • No engineering or medical professionals
PositionNameDOBAge (by end of 2019)GenderHighest Qualification
PresidentNelson Chamisa2 February 197841MaleMasters in International Relations and Diplomacy
Vice PresidentWelshman Ncube7 July 196162MaleMPhil Law
Vice PresidentTendai Biti6 August 196653MaleBachelor of Laws (LLB)
Vice PresidentLynette Karenyi21 May 1975 44FemaleBSc Development Studies
National ChairpersonThabitha Khumalo23 June 196162Female
Deputy National ChairpersonJob Sikhala30 October 197247MaleBachelor of Laws (LLB)
Secretary-GeneralCharlton HwendeMaleDiploma
Deputy Secretary-GeneralConcilia Chinanzvavana7 September 197247FemaleBachelor of Business Administration
Deputy Secretary-GeneralJameson TimbaMaleLLB & MBA
Treasurer GeneralDavid Coltart4 October 195766MaleBachelor of Laws (LLB)
Deputy Treasurer GeneralLilian Timevous197346FemaleBSc Local Governance
National Organising SecretaryAmos Chibaya197841MaleBSc Local Governance
Deputy National Organising SecretaryHappymore Chidziva27 December 198039MaleDiploma
Deputy National Organising SecretarySibusisiwe MasaraFemale
National SpokespersonDaniel Fortune Molokele31 January 197544MaleMaster of Laws (LLM)
Deputy National SpokespersonLuke TamborinyokaMaleDegree
Women's Assembly ChairpersonPaurina Mpariwa196455FemaleBSc Development Studies
Youth Assembly ChairpersonObey Tererai Sithole 31 May 199227MaleMA in Global Development Planning
Secretary for electionsJacob MafumeMaleBachelor of Laws (LLB)

PS: Missing information for Thabitha Khumalo (qualifications), Charlton Hwende (DOB), Jameson Timba (DOB), Sibusisiwe Masara (DOB & qualifications), Jacom Mafume (DOB) and Luke Tamborinyoka (DOB & qualifications)

Picture of the MDC Standing Committee

MDC Zimbabwe Standing Committee members
Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.