Press "Enter" to skip to content

Zimbabwe: 3 candidates to contest for the Mutasa Ward 10 by-election

Three candidates successfully filed nomination papers to contest for the Mutasa Ward 10 by-election scheduled for Saturday, May 11.

The Mutasa Ward 10 seat fell vacant after MDC Alliance Councillor Frank Chitembwe was sentenced to two years in prison for blocking a road during the shutdown protest of January 14-16.

The MDC Alliance won the Mutasa Ward 10 seat with 1 281 votes versus 451 votes for Simon Michael Matingo the Zanu PF candidate in the 2018 elections.

At the sitting of the nomination court on Wednesday, March 3 the following candidates were declared for the Mutasa Ward 10 by-election

  1. Tanyaradzwa Rose Mukodza (MDC Alliance)
  2. Magret Tindinika (Zanu PF)
  3. Tanyaradzwa Justin Chirimo (NCA) previously reported that Zanu PF’s Kidwell Mujuru won the Cowdray Park by-election held in Bulawayo on March 30, a councillor seat previously held by the MDC Alliance.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.