Press "Enter" to skip to content

Ex-Maldives president Nasheed wins parliamentary seat & leads party to landslide victory in national assembly

Former Maldives president Mohamed Nasheed won the Central Mahchangolhi MP seat after parliamentary elections held on Saturday, April 6.

Nasheed was Maldives first democratically elected president serving a single term from 2008 to 2012 after defeating Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, who had ruled for 30 years.

He resigned in 2012 after opposition protests supported by the military and police forces and was succeeded by Mohammed Waheed Hassan who served the remainder of his term until the 2013 election won by Abdulla Yameen.

MDP leader Nasheed was blocked from contesting the 2018 election but fellow MDP member Ibrahim Mohamed Solih contested and won the November election

The Nasheed led Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) won more than two-thirds of the seats in the 87-member Maldives national assembly after Saturday’s vote with 68 seats.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.